Loading articles...

#ABVotes2019: Where do I go to vote?


In order to vote in the 2019 provincial election, you need to be eligible and registered

If you didn't vote by mail-in ballot or in advance polls, you will need to find out where your polling station is

Polls are open Apr. 16 from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

CALGARY (CITYNEWS) –  Albertans far and wide will be heading to the polls to cast their ballots April 16 to determine if NDP leader Rachel Notley will have a second term as premier of if a new face will be elected.

The future of the province is in your hands–so, do you know where to go to vote? Are you registered? What do you need to bring to the polling station when you go to have your say? Here’s everything you need to know before you vote:


Are you eligible?

In order to vote in the election, you must first be eligible. You are eligible to vote if you are:

  • a Canadian citizen
  • at least 18 years of age on Election Day
  • ordinarily resident in Alberta


If you are eligible, you still have to register.

Are you registered?

If you are not registered, or your information is out of date, register at your designated polling place. If you choose to register at a polling station you will need to provide valid government ID and you’ll have to fill out a declaration form. If you’re not sure if you’re registered or not, you can call the voter information line at 1.877.422.8683.


Where do I go to vote?

If you did not vote in the advance polls or use a mail-in ballot, you will need to visit your designated polling station on April 16. Your polling station is based on where you live.

If you live out of the province for most of the year to attend school in a different province, your polling station will be based off where you live while you’re in Alberta.

You can find your polling station here. You should also have received a voter information card in the mail.

If you need further assistance, you can speak to someone in person at a returning office. To find the returning office in your riding, click here.

Polls are open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. on election day.