Loading articles...

Chamber of Commerce honours local business leaders

Last Updated May 13, 2019 at 6:58 pm MDT

Fort McMurray Chamber of Commerce first vice-president Kristi Hines (left) and treasurer Staci Millard are two of nine finalists for the Alberta Women Entrepreneurs Upsurge Award to be awarded tomorrow night in Edmonton. Photos supplied by Hines Health Services and S. Millard Chartered Accountant respectively.

The recognitions keep coming for Wood Buffalo’s award-winning business owners.

Kristi Hines of Hines Health Services and Staci Millard of S. Millard Professional Accounting are finalists for the Alberta Women Entrepreneurs (AWE) Upsurge Award.

Both are nominees at the 2019 AWE Awards in Edmonton taking place tomorrow night.

Bryce Kumka, President of the Fort McMurray Chamber of Commerce, congratulated his fellow board members.

“This is a testament to their work and leadership within their own organizations and the wider community as professionals dedicated to being excellent and forward-thinking entrepreneurs.”

He adds both Hines and Millard volunteer with social profits while supporting entrepreneurs and business leaders.

Formed in 2012, the AWE recognizes current female business leaders and encourages future entrepreneurs.

Hines and Millard are two of only nine nominees for the Upsurge Award.

The award recognizes a female entrepreneur’s leadership, as well as her brand development, customer service, and forward-thinking approach.

Kristi Hines serves as the First Vice President of the Chamber of Commerce.

Meanwhile, Staci Millard serves as the board’s Treasurer.

Facts and figures

  • Hines founded Hines Health Services, which has 120 affiliate locations across Canada.
  • Hines Health Services received the Small Business of the Year at the Chamber Awards in 2018.
  • S. Millard Professional Corporation provides year-round accounting services.
  • Millard won the Female Entrepreneur of the Year award in last year’s Chamber Awards.
  • Hines and Millard were two out of 180 nominees for this year’s award.