Loading articles...

Keyano student-athletes rank among Canada's scholar award winners

Keyano Huskies logo: Image supplied by Curtis Phillips, Keyano Huskies Sport Information Officer.

As many as 19 student-athletes from Keyano College received the Canadian College Athletic Association (CCAA) National Scholar Awards for 2019-20.

Keyano Director of Athletics, Sport and Student Wellness Jonathan Lambert said the recognition makes working at the College worthwhile.

“You work in a department like this to watch your students grow in their athletic pursuits and more importantly, set themselves up for a great career outside of sport. We couldn’t be any prouder, but in the end, it’s the work of these 19 great students who have truly earned this honour.”

The CCAA National Scholar Award honours student-athletes for their outstanding academic accomplishments.

To qualify, a student-athlete must achieve honours standing at their school during that particular year.

  • Basketball: Kaitlyn de Sousa Martins, Madison Gingell, Kayla Lutterodt, Tyshaine Page, Kaleigh Sellers, Jacob Simmons, Mamoiyan Toure, Joy Victor.
  • Soccer: Julio Meirelles, Lisa Popp, Skylar Robertson, Kya Soper, Karl Tronche.
  • Volleyball: Alex Andryszewski, Harlee Cameron, Jamie Ferns, Marlo Rathmann, Mackenzie Stokes, Kayla Wandowich.


A full list of student-athlete award winners is available on the CCAA website.